Week 65


katieHello, I Am Italy! My name is Katie. I will be traveling from the United States to Italy for the first time in June.
We will visit Rome, Florence, Siena, and the Amalfi Coast. We will travel by train and car. So glad my husband is excited about driving, so that we can see and experience more! Being curator will be a great way to experience the country in a unique way, and also appeal to other travelers. I will tweet and post lots of photos.

I am 43, married, 2 children (who are not going with us). I studied medieval history in college so I’m very interested in Siena in particular. I really can’t wait. I love food and wine and history and the visual arts. In the US I work in healthcare for people without health insurance (a charity) so I am interested in people and healthcare and society. I have been on Twitter for 5 years or so.

Follow Katie’s tour on Twitter


Week 64


VictoriaLa dolce vita for me sums up Victoria’s passion and love for all things Italian. An American (with deep Italian roots) living in California, her heart is always in Italy.
As a travel consultant, blogger, and writer, Victoria loves sharing practical no-nonsense travel tips and insights as well as her own experiences from a personal and light-hearted point-of-view.
Victoria loves writing on her travel blog, www.PostcardsfromTravelPiZazz.com and invites you to join her there as well as on Facebook, Twitter, Italian Talks, Italian Notebook, and Pinterest. She now offers two boutique tours to Italy and is editing her first e-book on travel planning.

Week 63


Silvia I was born and raised on lake Como, I graduated as a doctor in veterinary medicine in Milan and I’ve worked as a veterinarian for pets for almost 2 years. In the meantime I met the guy who now is my husband, an American officer of the US army, while he was on holiday in Italy. So I left everything behind me and now I’m living in Texas. I moved here in November so I’m still studying for being certified as a vet here too and trying to handle this new life. I love travelling (it’s so expensive here in the US ouch!), riding horses, cuddling with my doggy and hiking with my hubby.

Week 62


KeithCiao!  My name is Keith.  I studying for my Masters degree in international relations at St. John’s University in Rome.  I have been living in Italy for almost two years.  I have visited Rome more than a dozen times over the years as well as other places in Italy.  I am Italian-American so every trip to Italy is a way for me to get in touch with my roots and learn more about the culture and country that my family left all those years ago.  I also run a successful blog called “Parola del Giorno” with my friend, Giuseppe, where people learning Italian can improve their vocabulary and learn about Italian grammar. 


Week 61


ME sep2011 Ingrid Sperow is the Founder and Creative Director of Comunità Italiana USA. She established a community and a place outside of her immediate home as a place to discover the joy of Italian culture in the USA. Scoprite la gioia della cultura italiana . A place of Italian words, community, and all things & events Italian. Having lived in Rome, and having traveled far and wide throughout Italy and Europe, Ingrid fine tuned her tastes to all things and people Italian.
She teaches Italian privately in Silicon Valley (SF Bay Area) to adults and children and she serves as Direttrice degli Eventi per le DIVE (an all Italian expat women’s group in the San Francisco Bay Area).
In her words: “It has been my personal mission to promote Italian language and cultural enrichment to children & adults by providing a bridge to Italian language and culture here in America and abroad.”

Week 58


melissa_200x200Hello everybody! Here’s what Melissa tells us about her italianity:

“Ciao! Sono Melissa la studentessa matta – the crazy student of Italian! In college I studied painting and Art History in Firenze. Regretting I didn’t learn the language better at that time, about fifteen years ago I began to self teach-myself the Italian language. I have since become fluent using every means available to me! I now promote the study of the Italian language through the Studentessa Matta Project. I write a blog in Italian called Diario di una Studentessa Matta (www.studentessamatta) to exercise and flex language skills and encourage others to study the language. The blog explores all aspects of Italian culture & current events in a light and humorous way. Also featured are language learning tips, websites, videos & articles that are helpful to obtaining fluency. I travel frequently to Italy and three years ago I began to organize Matta Language and Cultural trips to Italy, for those who want to dive beneath the surface and use their the language in a fun and meaningful way. I am so crazy for Italy and the language that recently I have also initiated a monthly podcast series called “Italian Talk for Lovers of the Language”.”

She also posted on her blog about I_am_Italy project! Have a look: http://www.studentessamatta.com/io-sono-litalia-italy/

Week 54


nicoleI am a 30 year old, native New Yorker, have been living in Italy for 2 years now (but have been coming for vacation every summer for 10 years +). Spent one year living/working/studying in Bologna, and have been living in Rome with my now-husband, Alessandro for the past 1 year.  I work remotely for for a luxury incoming destination management company, Your Private Italy (office in Salerno), which brings in American tourists to Italy, arranging all of their travel plans on the ground. My husband, who is a Chef, works in a restaurant here in Rome in Piazza delle Copelle, and we also run our own boutique culinary tour, Trionfale Tours together.  I am heading back to NYC end of Jan. to go teach a course at Pace University in the Hospitality & Tourism Management program. I  hold undergraduate degree from the Hospitality & Tourism Mgt. Program at Pace (2005), and also an MBA in finance (2010) from same.  In 2012 I completed an accelerated Master’s in Marketing, Communications and New Media at the University of  Bologna’s Alma Grad School on a scholarship from Unicredit.

Week 53


marianaI’m an American/Brit dual citizen expat/immigrant, living and working in a small town in the province of Reggio Emilia with my Italian marito. I blog at www.MarriedToItaly.com about the ups and downs of being a foreigner here. For a more complete bio, please see my about page: http://marriedtoitaly.com/about/

Week 47

@livseestheworld / Olivia


Hello everyone! I’m an American graduate student finishing a master’s degree in museum studies in Florence, Italy. I’ve been living here for about 2 years altogether.  I currently intern at the Palazzo Vecchio and I adore the art and history of Florence.  My father’s family originated in Italy, emigrating from a village near Naples about 100 years ago to New York City, and their names are even inscribed on the Ellis Island Wall (I’ve seen them!). Now here I am, back in motherland (well, a bit more north). I look forward to sharing my passion for the lovely and varied patrimony of Italy, beautiful art, gorgeous old buildings, my coffee/chocolate addiction, and my life here in Florence!

week 46


Alberta Soranzo logoHey there. My name is Alberta and I live in Los Angeles. I work at UCLA where I am head of user experience and strategy at a research center. That sounds complicated but it just means that I think about stuff and try to make the internet a better place for everybody. When I’m not at work,  I wrangle two daughters, two cats, a dog and a tortoise. I travel quite a bit but when I’m in town I spend my Friday nights playing ice hockey with a bunch of really interesting women who play way better than I do.
Very occasionally, I write at http://albertasoranzo.com and spend entirely too much time on Twitter at @albertatrebla.
Notable skills: concision, sarcasm and the best musical taste on the wrong side of the Atlantic.